For the last segment of the semester document please do the following:

  • Construct a Social Media Marketing calendar
  • Research user base
  • Construct a Revenue Generation spreadsheet – attached to the email
  • Be sure to research commission and payment amounts for other forms of revenue besides advertising.


Constructing a Social Media Marketing calendar

To construct a Social Media Marketing calendar use your research based of your marketplace. What platforms do similar sites use and what events do they follow?

Example: Weifan Wang

Gaming Conventions –



Add a paragraph as to why you choose certain events.

“These conventions – MagFest and Shadowcon – usually attract the greatest crowds of…..”


Research user base

To research the size of your marketplace – use sites like example shown below.



Add a paragraph describing your findings.

“According to research the marketplace for online gaming has shown that sites such as and average close to 100 million views monthly……” – 111 million visitors in 28 days – 99 million visitors in 28 days*/999/28d*/999/28d?webSource=Total

Use these statistics to judge your potential viewership.


Construct a Revenue Generation spreadsheet

Use the real Rev Gen Excel doc to generate your possible revenue – changing appropriate numbers in the columns.

Change User/Client amounts in Excel doc attached to this email



Example: – 111,000,000 viewers per month x 12 months – 1,320,000,000 – yearly


Calculation Example (cells in Excel sheet are already programmed):

Total users based on one college – 3500 club members throughout one college

3500 x 6 average page visits a day = 21,000 daily page visits to overall club pages on site

21,000 x 4 ads per page (footer/sidebar) = 84,000 ad views

Average CPM per ad view =

$1.99 per 1000 views x 4 ads = $8.00 x 21(000) = $168 per day x 180 days per year

180 x $168 = $30,000 per school year in online ad revenue alone


Other Forms of Revenue Generation


Now using your research determine the rates for other forms of Revenue streams from this post below.



8 Basic Forms of Online Revenue Generation

Online revenue generation comes in diverse forms. Here is the current list:

  • Online Advertising – example above
  • Affiliate – average % commission
  • Affinity – rate for placement
  • Microsites – rate for page rental
  • Research – payout for feedback
  • Search – payout for feedback
  • Subscription – average yearly subscriptions
  • eCommerce – sales commission from on demand vendors

Advertising – Each of the forms of advertising listed below have different price points and are usually adjusted by contract, user base, and an auction like structure given the platform.

“The advertising revenue model is based on contacts making it one of the indirect sources of revenue. The conventional version is display-marketing – for example wallpaper, super banner, rectangle, skyscraper4) – which is paid according to traffic (invoice per CPC/cost-per-click or CPX/cost-per-action). The main online advertising variations are besides display-marketing, affiliate-marketing (advertising on many websites, CPX) and search-engine-marketing (CPC). Special models are e-mail-marketing and social-media-marketing. For advertisers with a lower budget for example the New York Times created a self-booking-tool for display-ads on a CPM(Cost-per-mille)-basis.5) And there are still rising new opportunities.”


Examples with explanations:

Cost of advertising based on a visitor taking some specifically defined action in response to an ad. Examples of “Actions” include such things as completing a sales transaction, or filling out a form.

CPC is the abbreviated term for both Cost-per-Click and Cost-per-Customer. Please click on the term you are looking for.

CPC (Cost-per-Click)
CPC or cost-per-click is the cost of advertising based on the number of clicks received.

CPC (Cost-per-Customer)
CPC or Cost-per-customer is the cost an advertiser pays to acquire a customer.

Cost of advertising based on the number of database files (leads) received.

Media term describing the cost of 1,000 impressions. For example, a Web site that charges $1,500 per ad and reports 100,000 impressions has a CPM of $15 ($1,500 divided by 100).

Cost of advertising based on the number of orders received. Also called Cost-per-Transaction.

The advertiser’s cost to generate one sales transaction. If this is being used in conjunction with a media buy, a cookie can be offered on the content site and read on the advertiser’s site after the successful completion of an online sale.

(Cost-per-Transaction) See CPO (Cost-per-Order).

(Cost per Targeted Thousand Impressions) 
Implying that the audience one is trying to reach is defined by particular demographics or other specific characteristics, such as male golfers age 18-25. The difference between CPM and CPTM is that CPM is for gross impressions, while CPTM is for targeted impressions.

Report on Average Online Advertising Rates – from Salesforce

Globally, the overall CPM decreased by 11%, to $3.30. This reflects normal seasonal trends in digital advertising, with higher costs in Q4 due to advertiser demand for holiday advertisements. Facebook itself shows increased overall revenue in Q4 relative to Q1 both this year and last year in line with the overall advertising industry, as it has matured and become a major channel in digital advertising…

Read more at link


Affiliate – The affiliate program is an online distribution solution, which is based on the principle of commission. Merchants advertise and sell their products and services through links to partner-websites. It is a pay-for-performance model: Commissions are only paid for actual revenue or measurable success.

Affinity Affinity marketing is a concept that consists of a partnership between a company and an organization that gathers persons sharing the same interests (known as an affinity group) to bring a vaster consumer base to the opposite party.

“Banks and Insurance firms have long seen the power of marketing through affinity partners, but new entrants to this marketing world include the major hotel and car rental chains. The airlines are getting into the act, as are some brave consumer services firms such as Lifelock. It takes a bit of fearlessness to jump into this world of managing dozens, or hundreds of partners, but the boost in marketing results has been proven time and again.

Having worked with a number of clients that market through affinity partners, SIGMA has a blueprint of marketing best practices that can dramatically improve affinity marketing results. Some of these are just practical, tried and true direct marketing techniques, but often the complex world of partner marketing makes executing on the basics difficult.
Read more at –

Microsites Content-Led Semantic Microsite Strategy

Rather than battle head-to-head with our competitors, the smart thing to do is apply some lateral thinking. Look where they don’t. Win where they don’t play. Increasingly, I have been looking once again at “other” ways of making content work, and in recent weeks, I have begun testing microsite strategies. These make a lot of sense in light of algorithmic changes in search that place extra emphasis on semantic association and content more generally. Such a strategy has existed for many years. It is, however, something that should now resurface after a period in the shadows.

Research Total digital advertising

In 2015, $59.6 billion was spent on any digital advertising, including on search engines, social media, news or any other kind of website. This is up 20% from 2014, according to estimates by eMarketer. This growth rate is slightly higher than in the previous three years, when annual growth hovered around 15-17%.

Digital advertising continues to grow and to account for a larger portion of all ad spending

Search – Conventional online advertising is with 52.9% of the online advertising gross volume 2) still the most common form of online advertising. Search Marketing accounts for 39.7% of the online gross advertising volume. The OVK predicts keyword marketing with 15%, the largest growth potential. 3) search engine marketing consists of two areas: Keyword Marketing is the targeted advertising in the context of related searches.  Search Engine Optimization – encompasses all actions that brings the relevant website to the top of the search results in Search Engines. Some scientists stress that marketing is not a new discipline on the internet but only marketing under a different banner.4) Others see a fundamental change in marketing through the new involvement of consumers in the world of Web 2.0.5)

Subscription – Users are charged a periodic (daily, monthly or annual) fee to subscribe to a service. Many sites combine free content with premium membership, i.e. subscriber- or member-only content. Subscription fees do not depend on transactions. Subscribers use the content as long and often as they want.6)

Use of social media to generate views and subscribers

Then turned into revenue generators, similar to analogue process.




Social Media forms of revenue streams

We know social media can generate buzz, but can it generate revenue? It’s an important strategic question for associations that hasn’t been getting much attention even as all eyes turn toward the promise of the social web.

Just like there is money to be made in any key engagement strategy – from face-to-face events and education to publications and magazines – so too is there money to be made from an online engagement strategy that is built around social technologies. Here are just a few examples.

  • Increasing value. By using social media to drive traffic to your web site, subscriptions to your listserver and pass-along for your e- newsletters, you’re adding value that can translate into more interest and higher revenue from digital ad and sponsorship inventory.
  • Adding inventory. Social technologies also create new inventory that associations can offer to potential sponsors and advertisers. As an example, the Risk Insurance Management Society has moved their listservers to a more robust technology that enables them to serve ads on every message that is generated by the community. This new revenue stream is worth six figures.
  • Recruitment and retention. Any social media strategy that creates community and engages members under the umbrella of the association is going to impact a potential member’s decision to join and a current member’s decision to renew. As examples, both American Speech- Language-Hearing Association and Delta Sigma Phi fraternity have set up members-only LinkedIn groups. In both cases, the groups have been the impetus for renewals and re-engagement with lapsed members.
  • WOM marketing value. When members talk to members, the messages stick. Using social technologies as part of an integrated marketing campaign for conferences, seminars, books and other products can increase the effectiveness of every dollar you spend on direct mail, e-mail and your web site. Think of the Amazon model – reviews and detailed descriptions of the products from the Amazon community actually compel other members of the community to make decisions to buy.
  • Content subscriptions. As you build your organization’s online presence, you will likely find that the content you produce and the content your community generates have value to nonmembers. Some organizations are finding success with offering a web site subscription option, separate from a regular membership. The idea is to make premium content – like certain research reports or podcasts for example – available on a paid basis to people who might not otherwise become members.

The social web is here to stay and the opportunities for associations are huge. Ultimately, your social media strategy needs to be driven by your mission and your objectives. There are many opportunities to generate revenue, but only in the context of a mature, strategic and integrated approach to creating online engagement.

Dreyer is chief social media marketer and Grant is chief social media strategist for SocialFish, Washington, a social media firm for associations and nonprofits. Grant also is a TRENDS 2007 Young & Aspiring Association Professional


5 Steps to Building Your First Online Sales Funnel

As an entrepreneur, you understand marketing’s importance: Without marketing, your business would eventually fail due to the absence of new customers. Therefore, if you haven’t already put time and effort into this mission, now is the time to start; and one easy way to start is the utilization of a sales funnel.

Related: The Sales Secrets to Using Content Effectively at Each Stage of the Funnel

What is a sales funnel?

This strategy is so named due to the fact that in diagram form, this particular marketing strategy looks just like its name.

The top category is the biggest one and represents the largest number of people — potential customers. The bottom category represents the smallest number — committed customers — which is why it’s smaller.

Now, here are the five steps to follow to construct your own simple online sales funnel.

Social Media Campaign Plan

The social media marketing initiatives work hand in hand with generating revenue. The SMM generates views and interest which is then converted into revenue.

Based on your social media research and evaluation construct a plan for your Social Media campaign

Select which platforms you would focus on (based on your research) then provide a –

Monthly calendar (for Spring semester) what would you initiate and include it in this document.

Example: Initiative to generate views and usage – Remember Sales Funnel from document








Welcome Back


Val Day


St. Pat’s Day

Spring Break

End of Semester



Club Events

Different Club

Fund Raisers

Community Outreach


Fill out more…

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Photos of last years

Fill out more…

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Post list of upcoming events


Contest for best photos

Please use this research to show which forms of revenue generation you would use based on your platform: Educational

Use my examples plus your own research:


One club page example:

Equestrian club – possible advertisers – links provided to start research

Online advertising – Sidebar/footer ads – CPM model??? Investigate what rate is possible

Affiliate marketing – online equestrian stores – goods and services

Affinity – vacations focused on horseback riding hotels/spas – research a list

Microsites – colleges/universities that would have a microsite on your site

Research – cookie installed which reports on searches or page/link out visits

Search – search engine cookie installed which reports on searches or API with Google from which you are paid for lead generation

Subscription – not applicable for this platform/project

eCommerce – paraphernalia – or other on demand product services

Online Advertising Revenue – (which is just 1 of 8 revenue streams available)


Total users based on one college – 3500 club members throughout one college

3500 x 6 average page visits a day = 21,000 daily page visits to overall club pages on site

21,000 x 4 ads per page (footer/sidebar) = 84,000 ad views

Average CPM per ad view =

$1.99 per 1000 views x 4 ads = $8.00 x 21(000) = $168 per day x 180 days per year

180 x $168 = $30,000 per school year in online ad revenue alone

Now research the rates for other forms of Revenue streams

Online Advertising – example above

Affiliate – average % commission

Affinity – rate for placement

Microsites – rate for page rental

Research – payout for feedback

Search – payout for feedback

Subscription – average yearly subscriptions

eCommerce – sales commission from on demand vendors

5 Basic Platform Types

  1. Arts – Sites that are created to be or to house works of art

  1. Educational – Sites that are used to generate learning

Khan Academy

  1. Entertainment – Sites that are focused on providing entertainment

  1. Informational – Publishing, magazine, and search engines

  1. Promotional – Sites dedicated to promoting products and services

Platform Specific Revenue Stream examples


Revenue Streams: Existing, Expanded and New

As part of this project, we have cataloged the revenue streams available to US-based musicians, composers and performers based on the contours of copyright law and business practice. On this page, we take this same list of revenue streams and organize them into three categories.

Visual Arts



Colleges find revenue stream in social media

By Michael Smith, Staff Writer

Published October 12, 2015,

The “Drive to Kickoff” launched as a simple social media campaign counting down the days to the University of Southern California’s 2013 football season. But at the bottom corner of the infographic was something new for USC’s social media messaging — a small Audi logo. It marked the first time the school and its rights holder, Fox Sports, had sold a sponsorship on one of the school’s official social media accounts.
From that seemingly innocuous trial, USC has expanded social media sponsorships into a significant moneymaker.


Udemy adds revenue stream with private online learning sites for companies

Veteran online learning site, for example, has built a profitable business by collecting subscription fees from individuals and corporate clients. It’s also an area that other new online learning sites, like Codecademy or Skillshare, could ultimately look to for money-making opportunities. With the new program, corporate clients can select content from Udemy’s library of 7,000 premium and free courses and provide it to employees through a secure site bearing the company’s branding. They can also use Udemy to create their own online courses and view analytics on employee activity and performance. To start, the company said it will waive access fees, so corporate clients only pay for the cost of the content. Yang said that, for now, it offers corporations bulk purchasing discounts but will ultimately offer subscription pricing.


Why universities must optimise third stream revenue opportunities

Does the sector have the leadership, skills and strategy to make third stream central to its activities, asks Paul Hoskins of Precedent.

I have a theory: universities do not have the necessary strategies, leadership or business models to optimise the opportunities that exist for third stream activity and revenue.

It struck me a long time ago that the very name “third stream revenue” relegated a potentially lucrative source of income to a status akin to something that is considered third rate and very low priority. This notion was reinforced by visits to numerous universities’ websites where the sections dedicated to “business” presented a nebulous array of ill-defined services and offerings that were poorly targeted and non-specific in their offer.$FILE/Parthenon-EY-Alternative-revenues.pdf


The World’s Largest Media Companies Of 2015

The U.S. reigns when it comes to the largest media companies in the world. No surprises in this year’s rankings; the biggest still remain the biggest — and, once again, Comcast CMCSA -0.12%Corporation sits regally at No. 1.

The broadcasting and cable company faced intense regulatory scrutiny earlier this year in April after announcing it was going to drop a planned $45 billion takeover of Time Warner Cable TWC +%(No. 5).

The largely publicized deal attracted regulatory scrutiny involving concerns that acquisition would have too strong of a grip over the Internet. (Alas, another sign of the Internet’s inevitable takeover in television and the many changes to take place in the media business.)

Study: Global Entertainment Industry Poised to Top $2 Trillion in 2016

Services like Netflix and Hulu will help keep the U.S. as the biggest entertainment market in the world for the foreseeable future, says PricewaterhouseCoopers. Despite headlines extolling the booming entertainment and media markets of China, Brazil, India and other parts of the world, the U.S. will continue to dominate for years to come, according to PricewaterhouseCoopers, which released portions of its 2013-2017 Global Entertainment and Media Outlook on Tuesday. The U.S. entertainment and media market generated $479.23 billion in 2012, representing 29.2 percent of the worldwide revenue of nearly $1.639 trillion. In 2017, the U.S. is expected to account for $632.09 billion, or 29.4 percent of the worldwide total of more than $2.152 trillion, according to the report.


Top 25 Companies By Game Revenues

This Top Video Game Companies ranking is based on analysis of annual and quarterly financial reports published by a number of relevant publicly listed game companies. For companies that do not split out their game revenues, the analysis includes estimates, which may or may not be indicated explicitly. Revenues (GAAP) are restated to reflect Calendar Years, therefore do not necessarily match reported Fiscal Year results of individual companies. Revenues exclude hardware sales and other non-game sales to the extent publicly available. Microsoft and Sony estimates represent all Xbox and Playstation non-hardware platform revenues (including Xbox Live and PSN revenues respectively).

Report: Revenue From Online Video Streaming to Surpass Box Office

A new report suggests that online streaming video services such as Netflix and Hulu will soon be generating more annual revenue than traditional movie theaters. According to the latest PricewaterhouseCoopers Entertainment and Media Outlook 2014-2018, by 2017 revenue generated by television and subscription video on-demand providers will reach about $14 billion, $1.6 billion more than the gross amount earned from the U.S. movie box office.The report predicts that box office sales will increase slightly this year to $11.4 billion, up from $10.8 billion in 2013, and after being more or less flat since 2009. PwC predicts that box office revenue will maintain a 3.1-percent annual growth rate over the next four years, bringing movie ticket sale figures to $12.5 billion in 2018. However, revenue from subscription video services is growing much faster, from $3.3 billion in 2013 to a projected $10 billion in 2018. Revenue from transactional video services, like iTunes and Google Play, where users pay to rent or buy digital copies of movies or TV shows, brings that total to $14 billion in 2018.


Video Entertainment: A Surprising New Revenue Stream For Car-Sharing Services

In North America and Europe, the most common use case for car-sharing services is short trips in urban areas, essentially a taxi service. In markets such as India and China, car-sharing services are increasingly being used as a substitute for driving your own car to commute to work. In Mumbai, on average it takes 67 minutes to cover the the typical 17 km (10.6 miles) car commute. Shanghai is a bit better, taking 51 minutes to cover 31 km (19 miles). It’s the end of a long working day at your job in Mumbai. With the crazy traffic, even the relatively short drive to your home can take a long time. Now that inexpensive car-sharing services are available in Mumbai, you have given up driving and car pool with several other people using a car-sharing service. Your car also provides Wi-Fi so you can use the Internet and save on data charges. You pull out your smartphone, log into the service using the car-sharing service app and check your work e-mail. After a bit of that, you get bored and look for something else to do. The app gives you an entertainment option, so you look at which videos are there. Cool, an episode of one of your favorite TV shows is available and it’s free! You plug in your earphones and tap the video. It shows you a commercial for a dress store near your home and then you settle in to watch the video trying to tune out the chaos around you.


76 Ways to Make Money in Digital Media

By David Plotz

Using Microsites to generate revenue


eCommerce – Electronic commerce or ecommerce is a term for any type of business, or commercial transaction, that involves the transfer of information across the Internet. It covers a range of different types of businesses, from consumer based retail sites, through auction or music sites, to business exchanges trading goods and services between corporations. It is currently one of the most important aspects of the Internet to emerge.


The World’s Top 10 E-Commerce Players

Consulting firm Deloitte have listed the largest e-commerce companies in the world.

Deloitte who regularly lists the top 250 companies in the world also makes a list of the top 50 e-retailers. The top 10 e-commerce sites, from this list, are the following in Deloitte’s report Global Powers of Retailing 2016. The complete list is based on data from the fiscal year 2014 and through to June 2015, and it only looks at business to consumer sales.

  1. Amazon
    2. Apple
    4. Walmart
    5. Otto (Germany)
    6. Tesco
    7. Macy’s
    8. Liberty (
    9. Casino Guichard (France)

39 of the companies in the full list are omnichannel retailers with bricks-and-mortar stores as well as online and other non-store operations.,7296.html